Nik Stauskas named Big Ten Player of the Year; Beilein, LeVert, Walton also honored

Dylan Burkhardt

Michigan Wisconsin-22Michigan sophomore guard Nik Stauskas was named Big Ten Player of the Year this evening. Stauskas was selected as Player of the Year by both coaches and the media. (Photo: Chris Smith)

Michigan has won the award in back-to-back seasons after Trey Burke took home the honor last season. Before Burke was honored last season, the last Wolverine to win Big Ten Player of the Year was Glen Rice in 1989.

Stauskas averaged 17 points and 3.5 assists per game in Big Ten games, helping the Wolverines win the Big Ten outright by three games. He was lethally efficient as his shot chart shows here. He was the only unanimous selection on the All-Big Ten First Team by both coaches and media. Stauskas was also named a 2nd team All-American by The Sporting News earlier today.

Wolverine sophomore Caris LeVert was named All-Big Ten Second Team by both the media and coaches. Freshman point guard Derrick Walton Jr. was named to the Big Ten’s five man All-Big Ten Freshman Team.

Michigan head coach John Beilein and Nebraska coach Tim Miles will share Big Ten Coach of the Year honors. Beilein was selected by the media and Miles was selected by the coaches.

This is the fourth time a Michigan coach has been voted as the Big Ten Coach of the Year. Johnny Orr received the award in 1974 and 1977 while Bill Frieder won the award in 1985.

Beilein led Michigan, who started the season 6-4 and lost Preseason All-American Mitch McGary to a back injury, to a 15-3 record in conference play. The Wolverines won their first outright title since 1986 despite having the youngest team in the conference.

Glenn Robinson III earned Honorable Mention from both the coaches and media for the second consecutive season.

Full All-Big Ten Teams after the jump. 

  • jakelam2116

    Congrats, Nik! I think I would have gone Miles (by a hair) for Coach of Year. Beilein certainly voted for him. But both are obviously incredibly deserving.

    Lazy question: When was the last time a school had back-to-back POYs?

    • jakelam2116

      I found it. Never. First time two different players from the same school have won consecutive years.

      • mmmmFAZpizza

        Mitch or Caris next year for the 3-peat!

    • Davester

      Cleaves and Peterson in 1999 and 2000. Both split the award, so maybe no repeats in coaches or media, individually.


      I wouldn’t deny that Miles has done a good job but I don’t see the arguement that he deserves co-coach of the year…. I just think Beilein has done so much more in terms of results… Michigan beat Nebraska both times they played… Most everyone had Michigan getting 5th in the conference this year 4th if they over achieved…. They won walking away by 3 games…

  • jakerblue

    That’s great!

    But I place no stock in the Sportsmanship award if Valentine was one of the guys to get it.

  • MGoTweeter

    Congrats guys. Well deserved all around. Terrific B1G campaign.

  • kam

    Awesome!! But is there no most improved player award?

  • Davester

    Got no real complaints with these selections, except I’d like to see J-Mo on the All-Defense. I know that Hammons is allegedly an intimidating presence, but given the complete dichotomy of the effort level and the way the two players appoach everything on the court, I don’t know how you would rather have Hammons playing defense for you for 40 minutes over Morgan. Oh well.

  • Little Perm

    Ahh, if only Michigan had the talent of a Michigan State, represented by 4 honorees by both the coaches and media… we’d have been undefeated! Izzo is lucky to have so much talent to squander.

  • ACblue

    Interesting that the media voted for JB but the coaches did not.

    JB has been in league 7 years. Has he ever been chosen as COY by the coaches?
    Two years ago he won a share of title with Zach and Stu and a freshman Burke..where were they picked to finish preseason..6th to 7th ?

    My guess is that there is an established group of BT coaches that view JB as a threat ..Matta, Izzo, Crean and Ryan. JB has been an absolute gentleman and scholar of the game ..thats what they don’t want to acknowledge :)

    Instead they cast the ballot for Miles because he has limited resources and is less of a threat to their program and pecking order in the BT coaching hierarchy