Derrick Walton wins MVP at team banquet

Dylan Burkhardt

Michigan handed out individual awards at its annual banquet this evening and senior captain Derrick Walton took home the Most Valuable Player award.

Here’s a full list of awards that were handed out on Wednesday night.


  • Bill Buntin Most Valuable Player Award: Derrick Walton Jr.
  • Wayman Britt Outstanding Defensive Player: Zak Irvin & Muhammad-Ali Abdur-Rahkman
  • Travis Conlan Sportsmanship Award: Sean Lonergan
  • Rudy Tomjanovich Most Improved Player Award: D.J. Wilson & Moritz Wagner
  • Sixth Man Award: Duncan Robinson
  • Steve Grote Hustle Award: Xavier Simpson
  • Thad Garner Leadership Award: Zak Irvin & Derrick Walton Jr.
  • Iron Man Award: Mark Donnal
  • Award for Outstanding Free Throw Shooting: Derrick Walton Jr.
  • Gary Grant Award for Most Assists: Derrick Walton Jr.
  • Loy Vaught Rebounding Award: D.J. Wilson
  • Morgan/Bodnar Award for Academic Achievement: Moritz Wagner

This site is supported by donations

Like what you see? Click the button below to donate and access exclusive content.

  • bobohle

    Congrats to all for a great season.

  • Phish

    Does anyone know why Matt Shepard didn’t MC this year?

  • MrLG

    I agree with all the selections this year. Not so the last two years when the MVP was given to Zak Irvin (should have been Spike two years ago, then DW last year).

    Well, actually I can quibble a bit. DJ really did improve more than Mo. Mo showed flashes of brilliance a year ago, while DJ was pretty much a zero. And “iron” and Mark Donnal just don’t seem to go together in the same sentence. Donnal was decent this past season, I just think we should have found another award to give him.