Michigan’s 2016-17 schedule was finalized today as the Big Ten formally announced the conference schedule.

The Wolverines will open Big Ten play on January 1st at Iowa.

The most difficult stretch of schedule is Michigan’s six game stretch from Jan. 26th through Feb. 16th that features two games against Indiana and Michigan State along with home games against Ohio State and wisconsin

Michigan will only play five teams — Michigan State, Indiana, Illinois, Nebraska and Wisconsin — twice this season. The Wolverines also have home single plays against Maryland, Ohio State, Penn State and Purdue and will travel to Iowa, Minnesota, Northwestern and Rutegrs.

Michigan’s non-conference schedule is highlighted by the 2K Classic in New York City (games against Marquette and either Pittsburgh or SMU), road games at South Carolina and USC and home games against Texas and Virginia Tech.

Here’s Michigan’s full 2016-17 Big Ten basketball schedule.

Sun., Jan. 1 atIowa Iowa * Iowa City, Iowa
Wed., Jan. 4 vs.Penn State Penn State * Crisler Center
Sat., Jan. 7 vs.Maryland Maryland * Crisler Center
Wed., Jan. 11 atIllinois Illinois * Champaign, Ill.
Sat., Jan. 14 vs.Nebraska Nebraska * Crisler Center
Tue., Jan. 17 atWisconsin Wisconsin * Madison, Wis.
Sat., Jan. 21 vs.Illinois Illinois * Crisler Center
Thu., Jan. 26 vs.Indiana Indiana * Crisler Center
Sun., Jan. 29 atMichigan State Michigan State * East Lansing, Mich.
Sat., Feb. 4 vs.Ohio State Ohio State * Crisler Center
Tue., Feb. 7 vs.Michigan State Michigan State * Crisler Center
Sun., Feb. 12 atIndiana Indiana * Bloomington, Ind.
Thu., Feb. 16 vs.Wisconsin Wisconsin * Crisler Center
Sun., Feb. 19 atMinnesota Minnesota * Minneapolis, Minn.
Wed., Feb. 22 atRutgers Rutgers * Piscataway, N.J.
Sat., Feb. 25 vs.Purdue Purdue * Crisler Center
Wed., Mar. 1 atNorthwestern Northwestern * Evanston, Ill.
Sun., Mar. 5 atNebraska Nebraska * Lincoln, Neb.
  • nswan

    Ugg… that mirrored schedule of jan 26 thru Feb 12 looks awful

    • NorthernBlue

      That is the first thing I noticed as well. Other than that, I think the schedule looks pretty good and definitely gives Michigan the chance to close out the B1G season on a roll. I think Michigan can win 11 conference games, but I really don’t know what to expect from Illinois, Iowa or Maryland. Our single plays are definitely weaker opponents, but I am expecting a slightly better team this year than last years, and the B1G was probably stronger last year.

  • bobohle

    The

    The B1G schedule makers were not easy on Michigan starting out with Iowa on the road and ending with two straight road games not to mention the 6 straight really tough games in a row starting Jan 26.

  • Wayman Britt

    Not trying to be a downer, but it sure is going to be tough for UM to win more than 10 games in the conference.