Zak Irvin wins MVP at team banquet


Michigan handed out individual awards at its annual banquet this evening. Zak Irvin took home the Most Valuable Player honor for the second straight year while Derrick Walton was named the team’s best defender.

Find a full list of player awards below.


• Bill Buntin Most Valuable Player: Zak Irvin
• Wayman Britt Outstanding Defensive Player: Derrick Walton Jr.
• Travis Conlan Sportsmanship Award: Sean Lonergan
• Rudy Tomjanovich Most Improved Player: Muhammad-Ali Abdur-Rahkman
• Sixth Man Award: Aubrey Dawkins
• Steve Grote Hustle Award: Muhammad-Ali Abdur-Rahkman
• Thad Garner Leadership Award: Zak Irvin
• Iron Man Award: Zak Irvin
• Award for Outstanding Free Throw Shooting: Duncan Robinson
• Gary Grant Award for Most Assists: Derrick Walton Jr.
• Loy Vaught Rebounding Award: Derrick Walton Jr.
• Morgan/Bodnar Award for Academic Achievement: Sean Lonergan

This site is supported by donations

Like what you see? Click the button below to donate and access exclusive content.

  • MrLG

    Just like last year, I don’t think that Zak is deserving of the MVP. Last year, it should have been Spike all by himself. And this year it should have been Derrick. Just look at the stats: DW was the leader in points, assists, steals *and* rebounds. And a good defender to boot.

    I probably would have given most improved to Donnal. While MAAR had a great season, the improvement in Donnal was most striking, from sort of useless to solid contributor.