Caris LeVert named to Preseason Wooden Award watch list

Dylan Burkhardt

Michigan senior guard Caris LeVert was named to the John R. Wooden Award preseason watch list this afternoon.

LeVert is averaging 14.5 points, six assists and four rebounds per game through two games this season. Before he injured his foot in 2014-15 he was leading Michigan in points, rebounds, assists and blocks.

LeVert is one of 10 Big Ten players on the list. Indiana (3), Maryland (2), Wisconsin (1), Michigan State and Purdue are also represented. The last Wolverine to win the John Wooden Award for National Player of the Year was Trey Burke in 2012-13.

Here’s the complete Wooden Award watch list:

Name Height Class Position University Conference
Grayson Allen 6-5 Soph. G Duke ACC
Zach Auguste 6-10 Sr. F Notre Dame ACC
Ron Baker# 6-4 Sr. G Wichita State Missouri Valley
DeAndre’ Bembry 6-6 Jr. F St. Joseph’s Atlantic 10
James Blackmon, Jr. 6-4 Soph. G Indiana Big Ten
Malcolm Brogdon# 6-5 Sr. G Virginia ACC
Jaylen Brown 6-7 Fr. F California Pac-12
Jalen Brunson 6-3 Fr. G Villanova Big East
Kyle Collinsworth 6-6 Sr. G BYU WCC
Kellen Dunham 6-6 Jr. G Butler Big East
Kris Dunn 6-4 Jr. G Providence Big East
Perry Ellis 6-8 Sr. F Kansas Big 12
Yogi Ferrell 6-0 Sr. G Indiana Big Ten
Rico Gathers 6-8 Sr. F Baylor Big 12
Anthony Gill 6-8 Sr. F Virginia ACC
Daniel Hamilton 6-7 Soph. G/F Connecticut The American
A.J. Hammons 7-0 Sr. C Purdue Big Ten
Nigel Hayes 6-8 Jr. F Wisconsin Big Ten
Buddy Hield 6-4 Sr. G Oklahoma Big 12
Danuel House 6-7 Sr. G Texas A&M SEC
Brandon Ingram 6-9 Fr. G/F Duke ACC
Demetrius Jackson 6-1 Jr. G Notre Dame ACC
Brice Johnson 6-10 Sr. F North Carolina ACC
Damian Jones 7-0 Jr. C Vanderbilt SEC
Bronson Koenig 6-4 Jr. G Wisconsin Big Ten
Skal Labissiere 6-11 Fr. F Kentucky SEC
Jake Layman 6-9 Sr. F Maryland Big Ten
Caris LeVert 6-7 Sr. G Michigan Big Ten
Nic Moore 5-9 Sr. G SMU The American
Monte Morris 6-3 Jr. G Iowa State Big 12
Jamal Murray 6-4 Fr. G Kentucky SEC
Malik Newman 6-3 Fr. G Mississippi State SEC
Georges Niang 6-8 Sr. F Iowa State Big 12
Marcus Paige 6-2 Sr. G North Carolina ACC
Gary Payton II 6-3 Sr. G Oregon State Pac-12
Jakob Poeltl 7-0 Soph. F Utah Pac-12
Taurean Prince 6-8 Sr. F Baylor Big 12
Xavier Rathan-Mayes 6-4 Soph. G Florida State ACC
Domantas Sabonis 6-11 Soph. F Gonzaga WCC
Ben Simmons 6-10 Fr. F LSU SEC
D’Vauntes Smith-Rivera 6-3 Sr. G Georgetown Big East
Kaleb Tarczewski 7-0 Sr. C Arizona Pac-12
Isaiah Taylor 6-3 Jr. G Texas Big 12
Melo Trimble 6-3 Soph. G Maryland Big Ten
Tyler Ulis 5-9 Soph. G Kentucky SEC
Denzel Valentine 6-5 Sr. G Michigan State Big Ten
Fred VanVleet 6-0 Sr. G Wichita State Missouri Valley
Tyrone Wallace 6-5 Sr. G California Pac-12
Troy Williams 6-7 Jr. F Indiana Big Ten
Kyle Wiltjer# 6-10 Sr. F Gonzaga WCC

# indicates player selected as a 2014-15 Wooden Award All American

This site is supported by donations

Like what you see? Click the button below to donate and access exclusive content.