2015-16 Michigan basketball schedule finalized with Big Ten announcement

Dylan Burkhardt
on

Michigan’s 2015-16 basketball schedule was finalized today as the Big Ten formally announced the conference schedule.

The Wolverines will open Big Ten play at Illinois on Wednesday, December 30th.

Michigan will host back-to-back marquee home games in early February with Indiana (Feb. 2) and Michigan State (Feb. 8) traveling to Ann Arbor. Those two games are part of a very difficult month of February for the Wolverines that will also feature trips to Maryland, Ohio State and Wisconsin.

Michigan will only play five teams twice in conference play —  Iowa, Maryland, Minnesota, Purdue, Penn State — with single plays against the league’s other eight teams. The Wolverines travel to Illinois, Nebraska, Ohio State and Wisconsin and host Indiana, Michigan State, Northwestern and Rutgers for single plays.

Michigan’s non-conference schedule is highlighted by the Battle 4 Atlantis in the Bahamas over Thanksgiving. The Wolverines open the Battle 4 Atlantis against UConn on the Wednesday before Thanksgiving at 9:30 p.m. Michigan will also travel to SMU and North Carolina State while hosting Xavier in the non-conference slate.

2015-16 Michigan Basketball Schedule

  • Fri., Nov. 6 vs. Le Moyne ex
  • Fri., Nov. 13 vs. Northern Michigan
  • Mon., Nov. 16 vs. Elon (Battle 4 Atlantis, Mainland Game)
  • Fri., Nov. 20 vs. Xavier (Gavitt Games)
  • Battle 4 Atlantis (Wed. Nov. 25-Fri. Nov. 27) — Bracket
    • Nov. 25: UConn (9:30 p.m.)
    • Nov. 26: Syracuse or Charlotte (3:30 p.m. or 9:30 p.m.)
    • Nov. 27: Gonzaga, Texas, Texas A&M or Washington
  • Tue., Dec. 1 at North Carolina State – Raleigh, N.C. (ACC/Big Ten Challenge)
  • Sat., Dec. 5 vs. Houston Baptist
  • Tue., Dec. 8 at SMU – Dallas, Texas (Moody Coliseum)
  • Sat., Dec. 12 vs. Delaware State
  • Tue., Dec. 15 vs. Northern Kentucky
  • Sat., Dec. 19 vs. Youngstown State
  • Wed., Dec. 23 vs. Bryant University

Big Ten Schedule

  • Wed., Dec. 30 at Illinois
  • Sat., Jan. 2 vs. Penn State
  • Thurs, Jan. 7 at Purdue
  • Tues., Jan 12 vs. Maryland
  • Sun., Jan 17 at Iowa
  • Weds., Jan. 20 vs. Minnesota
  • Sat., Jan. 23 at Nebraska
  • Weds., Jan. 27 vs. Rutgers
  • Sat., Jan. 30 at Penn State (at Madison Square Garden)
  • Tues., Feb. 2 vs. Indiana
  • Sat. Feb. 6 vs. Michigan State
  • Weds., Feb. 10 at Minnesota
  • Sat., Feb. 13 vs. Purdue
  • Tues., Feb. 16 at Ohio State
  • Sun., Feb. 21 at Maryland
  • Weds., Feb. 24 vs Northwestern
  • Sun., Feb. 28 at Wisconsin
  • Sat., Mar. 5 vs. Iowa
CNclT2sVAAAU0O6
  • Great chance for U-M to get out to a hot start in January, but February is brutal.

    • Indiana_Matt

      That’s funny, I was thinking away at Illinois, Purdue and Iowa seemed pretty formidable to start things off when paired with the home game with possible #1 ranked Maryland. Indiana, MSU and Purdue at home don’t scare me as much.

  • Corperryale

    Maybe I’m mistaken, but I thought they weren’t supposed to play @Wisconsin this year. Oh well, at least they avoid Bloomington and Breslin and there are no brutal 4/5 game stretches as we’ve had in the past. Seems like a reasonable schedule to me.

  • Robert Weiner

    I’m optimistic at a 13-5 or 12-6 league record. 8-1 at home and 5-4 or 4-5 on road.

    • Indiana_Matt

      I was thinking 12-6 on my first impression as well.

  • Corperryale

    That Jan 12 home date vs Maryland is key, especially if they stumble early vs Illinois and/or Purdue. Great opportunity to knock off a potential number one team and secure a true resume win.

    Confident about a win in Kohl this year — comes at the end of the season when the team will be road-tested and U-M is the better team anyway. Need to split the home stand vs MSU and Indiana.

  • wildisreal

    Only playing 38% home and home makes a mockery of the term conference. FU money. FU market reach. FU short-sightedness.

    • David

      It’s a shame that we only play MSU once. I remember maybe 10 years back when U-M/MSU actually scheduled a second, out-of-conference game when this happened.