Spike Albrecht, Zak Irvin share MVP honors at team banquet


Michigan handed out its team awards at the annual Michigan basketball banquet this evening. Spike Albrecht and Zak Irvin shared the Bill Buntin Most Valuable Player award while Aubrey Dawkins earned Most Improved Player.

Below you can read the full list of awards:

  • Bill Buntin Most Valuable Player: Spike Albrecht / Zak Irvin
  • Wayman Britt Outstanding Defensive player: Zak Irvin
  • Travis Conlan Sportsmanship Award: Spike Albrecht
  • Rudy Tomjanovich Most Improved Player: Aubrey Dawkins
  • Sixth Man Award: Max Bielfeldt
  • Steve Grote Hustle Award: Spike Albrecht
  • Thad Garner Leadership Award: Spike Albrecht
  • Iron Man Award: Zak Irvin
  • Award for Outstanding Free Throws: Muhammad-Ali Abdur-Rahkman
  • Loy Vaught Rebounding Award: Zak Irvin
  • Bodnar Award for Academic Achievement: Sean Lonergan
  • Wayman Britt

    Now don’t take this the wrong way, Irvin was a valuable player this year and played great the last 6 games, but clearly Spike was the most valuable over the whole season. He helped elevate everybody’s game and the team would have lost a lot more games if he didn’t play. The team could have replaced Zak easier this year. This doesn’t mean Spike is a better player than Zak, just more valuable this year.

    • MrLG

      Completely agree. Spike should have won the MVP outright.

  • Corperryale

    Please Don’t Leave Award: Caris LeVert

    Best Freshman Next Year Award: Jaylen Brown

    • bobohle

      Jaylen Brown in the maize & blue I hope. Still praying. It’s not over till it’s over.